Wanna Try Tying Tube Flies....

Skook

Hello,

I would like to try my hand at tying tube flies for PA/NY Great Lakes rainbows (we call them steelhead back east:)) and Susquehanna River smallmouth. I've been tying flies off and on for a few decades. I'm not a great tier by any means, but I know my way around a vise.

I've noticed that there are various material suppliers for tubes, tools, heads, hooks, etc., and I'm hoping that you all might save me time, money and frustration by pointing out what works and what doesn't.

I happen to have an original New Hampshire-made HMH vise, and I called the company to ask whether their tube fly converter would fit in my old vise. They were confident that it would and said they could give me some new part for my old vise if it didn't. I know there are much cheaper options than the HMH converter, but since I already own the vise I figured I might as well start there. Other than that, I'm open to suggestions.

I'm just trying to avoid buying a bunch of different stuff only to find out later that I should've gone with something else.

The Fly Fishing Show in Lancaster, PA will be here in a few weeks, and I plan to attend. I'm not sure if there will be much there with regard to tube flies, but I would like to check things out there before I commit to anything.

Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Timson

i tie some of my tube bugs on brass tubing purchased at Joann's sewing store. Sink nicely and not too much lead

JayB

Flexi needle is about the best that I've used. You can slide about any tube that you'd want to on their needles.
Second vote for the flexineedle. It's *so* nice have something that will lock every tube in place, every time instead of having to futz around with multiple needles trying to get the right fit.

pittendrigh

The following isn't necessarily useful but it is interesting. To me anyway.

I tie tube flies a lot. Usually with Q-tips and the HMH attachment.