Whatcom Lake Smallmouth Bass

Jiminsandiego

I live in Anacortes and have been stillwater fishing (for trout). But now I plan on targeting Whatcom Lake for Smallmouth from a float tube. Apparently there are two boat launches and a trail head where I can put my tube in. I'm thinking poppers in black, green, or yellow. I studied crayfish fly tying a bit, but I'm not sure what pattern to start with. I'll have some semi seal leeches in yellow brown and black. I'm sure some members here could save me years of experimenting...As always, any input would be much appreciated.

Bryce Levin

I am not a bass expert, but I believe the water temps need to come up to be prime popper conditions. Lake Whatcom is a cold lake. I had some success there last summer rippin some black leeches and yellow buggers around structures in the SE corner of the lake in a full sink. There is a ton of crawfish in the lake, so I am going to give that a shot a full sink this summer.

I can’t speak much on lake access, but there is Whatcom county parks and rec land off Blue Canyon Road that you could drop a float tube in, but not a formal launch I don’t think.

The last thing I’ll say is it is a big lake that can get heavy boat traffic and some chop on it when the wind picks up, so be careful about how far you venture... it could be a long kick back to the car.

Good luck!

troutpocket

My folks live in Bham not far from the west end of the lake. That end gets real busy in good weather. But it’s big enough that there must be some areas that remain relatively quiet.

Im no bass expert but trout sized leech patterns have worked for me at lakes like Goodwin. I would think poppers in low light, leeches during the day would be a good strategy for starters.

kamishak steve