Stomach Pump Questions

MGTom

WFF Supporter
So being old school I studied the stream or lake contents and looked at what was in the fish the I ate, but these days I keep a lot less. I've watched many videos and done some online shopping because our sportsman's doesn't have them and have a couple questions about brands and using them on different fish. I hope I'm not wearing you guys out. I've seen both the fly rite with a long tube and a waspi with a shorter tube. Which type would be most versatile? I do trout fishing and see the long tube version used in many videos, but I never see it used on bass. Often they puke up the minnow or crawfish they just ate so you know what's up, but if I need to sample bass is the trout tube large enough in dia? I seem to only see one size. Seems you could modify a turkey baster, but I'm afraid the hard rough plastic could do serious harm.

Gyrfalcon2015

Wild Trout
IMHO only, I really hope people are careful doing this. Is it actually even truly a legal thing to do? A moral thing to do after one fish? I ponder, and what follows is just my 2 cents.

Handling fish and doing these kind of studies is at minimum, a stress, at worse, can easily probably do mortal harm. We all know to do this you'd need a good grip on the fish with one hand while the the forces a hard siphon down the soft tissued throat to steal a half days worth of feeding. You will see about 98% of content smaller than anything you could match with a hook, normally, anyway?

Besides, the fish was caught on something that just worked, right?