Go fish or stay home?

mjb

I guess I'm a little surprised when some clueless sport posts about venturing out to fish during a pandemic and gets...fishing tips.

Now I agree few activities are more naturally social distancing than flyfishing, but traveling to an area with low virus caseload seems a violation of both the stay home directive and basic consideration for locals. You're going to stop for gas, buy food/sundries, stop at the flyshop for tippets and tips, potentially get into trouble and need help from first responders, etc.

As an OP resident I can tell you the majority sentiment is stay home until everything opens up. But if you do come up, keep your distance, wear a mask and wash your hands.

We're all human and good at finding reasons to justify our actions. Most of us are probably gonna do what we wanna do. I don't mean to start a partisan bickerfest about "freedom", but what's your thinking?

Old Man

A very Old Man
WFF Supporter
Whenever I was sick I never ventured out to go fishing of any kind. The public doesn't need to have what ever I had at the time. Now this new shit is really bad crap to have. I try to stay away from people until the all clear is given. And then I will have to give it some thought as to meeting people even then.

Stonefish

Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
If you bring their own food or buy it and your gas in their own area prior to fishing, I don’t see an issue venturing out to fish.
It is pretty easy to avoid having to stop anywhere along the way other then where you intend to fish.
That is what I’ve been doing since things opened back up and it seems to have worked well with hardly any interaction with others.
Just my perspective on this. Others mileage may vary.
SF

mjb

If you bring their own food or buy it and your gas in their own area prior to fishing, I don’t see an issue venturing out to fish.
It is pretty easy to avoid having to stop anywhere along the way other then where you intend to fish.