First Time Float Tube Report

IHFISH

WFF Supporter
In the spirit of broadening one's horizons during the quarantine, I studied up on stillwater fly angling and resolved to give it a shot. My first few trips out once things opened up were to rivers and the salt, but in due course a FishCat 4 and the necessary accessories arrived and it was time to go.

In keeping with the punfest on the SRC thread today, let's say I decided to go down a rabbit hole and celebrate my unbirthday on a well-known east King County lake. Being new to the lake game I rigged up a 5wt with the RIO CQS intermediate I normally use for beach fishing and my 3wt with its standard floating line. The game plan was to strip buggers and leeches on the 5wt and throw soft hackles on the 3wt if conditions seemed decent for it.

I got to the launch in the late afternoon and there were several folks out on the lake and another crew soaking marshmallows and powerbait at the launch. This being my maiden voyage in the FishCat, I was just excited not to trip over my fins or break a rod mounting up in front of the powerbait crew. They were friendly and wished me good luck . One of their girlfriends did almost land a glob of mallows and worms in my lap as I finned out, but it was definitely an accident.

I started out casting the bugger to some rises near the launch and was happy to bring in a 12" stocker pretty quickly. This got the attention of some young kids fishing from the dock in front of a log cabin style home so we chatted for a bit about the fishing in front of their place and various wooden boat projects their folks were working on. I dropped off a light olive bugger for them to try out. I missed a couple other trout in that vicinity and then things slowed down for a bit.