Wade fishing the Yakima near Cle Elum

sbonvallet

I am fairly new to fly fishing. Hoping to wade fish the Yakima river near Cle Elum. I am also new to this area and would love some input as to areas amenable to wade fishing. I know some folks are reluctant to give up their “secret spots” but any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Old Man

A very Old Man
WFF Supporter
Not getting any hits are you. It's mostly a boat show in that area. River runs fast there and not good wade fishing. Just a hint as you should try behind the Easton Ponds. The river is wader friendly there Also learn the Fishing access spots in that area. There is some good water at those access spots that are easy to wade. Get a DeLorme Atlas. It calls out the access spots. Or go to Wooly Bugger Fly shop in Ellensburg. They have maps of that river.

Now I'm not giving out any secrets here as the info is on a map can't be too many secrets there.

wetline dave

The Yak is running a bit high for me to wade right now. It seems irrigation flows are happening and it will be like this until September. When the flows are greater than 2000 cfs at Umtanum I tend not to wade. You can probably find a spot or two to wet a line but if you wade be careful.

You can check flows at USGS river guage Umtanum.

Dave

Jojo

A sometimes eternal optimist
WFF Supporter
I am fairly new to fly fishing. Hoping to wade fish the Yakima river near Cle Elum. I am also new to this area and would love some input as to areas amenable to wade fishing. I know some folks are reluctant to give up their “secret spots” but any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
When i first started fishing we used to fish the Yakima near Cle Elum a lot. We used to stay a couple of nights at the Timberlodge and eat at Mama Vellones for dinner, watch a Seahawks game at the Caboose. It was always a fun trip. I love Cle Elum.