How to fish the Thin Blue Lines

MGTom

Living at the place of many waters
WFF Supporter
I am no expert, just a guy with over 50 years experience doing this stuff. All I know is what I've picked up in my experiences, and I'm sure I don't know everything.I'm going to share what I do, in hopes that others will contribute to help educate me as well. I also figured it was an easy title for the "new member" to search instead of that post "i'm new, where do I go and what fly works", along with the good natured teasing and subsequent "Welcome to the Forum" if they survive.
Step 1, Do your research. Get an atlas for big picture reconnaissance. Find the area that you are interested in, maybe you hear about something or just want to explore. Look for the green land, like for the national forest. Public land is easiest to access, although I knock on a lot of doors. Once you have a general area get a more detailed map like a 7.5' Quadrangle, or use the internet to search your counties GIS, if they have one, for boundaries and ownership. You may have selected a place, great, if not move your finger onver the page and put it down, that's where your going. Check the fishing rules pamphlet to make sure it's open and what rules there are, then check for emergency rules that may be in effect. The WDFW has a good phone app that finds you by your GPS then shows rules. Other products may have boundaries, ect.
20200630_123939.jpg
Step 2, Mobilize and travel