Fouled Hook Ups Release or Keep?

JLantz

I'm an area 11 guy, fishing the northern Narrows, Gig Harbor side, from the shore. Recently got back into fishing as a chance to get outside during this Covid mess. I am a serial novice.

On ultralight gear with #8 hooks, the baby coho and occasional SRC have been great sport. Very plentiful and fun to target their tide rip hunting grounds.

Nearly all of these small fish get hooked right in the corner of the mouth, but sometimes it doesn't go so well.
Today, the last fish of the day was a really nice 12" fat hatch coho baby, but the hook caught the gill plate inside. I managed to get it out OK with pliers, revive the fish, and it eventually swam away, but it's still bothering me.

At what point do you decide whether the fish is going to survive release, or when it's best to keep it?

Jake

If it’s legal to keep the fish, and it’s hooked bad in gills or gut-hooked, and I don’t have other dinner plans or my freezer isn’t full of fish, I’ll bonk it.

A dying coho is great food for the other Sound residents.

12” is fairly small. How big of a hook/fly were you using?

Last edited:

Stonefish

Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
Maybe try fishing bigger hooks to limit encounters with with smaller fish, especially this time of year.
SF

Rob Allen

I'm an area 11 guy, fishing the northern Narrows, Gig Harbor side, from the shore. Recently got back into fishing as a chance to get outside during this Covid mess. I am a serial novice.

On ultralight gear with #8 hooks, the baby coho and occasional SRC have been great sport. Very plentiful and fun to target their tide rip hunting grounds.

Nearly all of these small fish get hooked right in the corner of the mouth, but sometimes it doesn't go so well.