Suggestions for replacement on my water-killed Canon G9x

para_adams

I admit to being more focused on catching a cutthroat trout than protecting the point&shoot Canon G9x I carry in my upper vest pocket on the stream and lake. So now my Canon G9x is dead. I am an enthusiast photographer and own higher end DSLR gear but I also like to have a little camera that fits in my vest. What do you recommend? Anyone using a Canon G7xiii or G1xiii? Is there a Sony, Olympus, or other I should check out? Thanks, Ron

cabezon

Sculpin Enterprises
WFF Supporter
Hi Ron,
I'm a fan of the Olympus TG series. I own the TG-4 and the TG-5. The latest model is the TG-6. Not only is the camera waterproof to 50ft, but it is also quite tough. And it shoots amazingly good closeups. It shoots in jpeg and/or raw if you want more options while processing the images. And the video is quite good as well. Most of the photos that I have posted this past year in my threads were shots with the TG-5. You can find it for sale in the $320 - $350 range.
Steve

cdnred

Hi Ron,
I'm a fan of the Olympus TG series. I own the TG-4 and the TG-5. The latest model is the TG-6. Not only is the camera waterproof to 50ft, but it is also quite tough. And it shoots amazingly good closeups. It shoots in jpeg and/or raw if you want more options while processing the images. And the video is quite good as well. Most of the photos that I have posted this past year in my threads were shots with the TG-5. You can find it for sale in the $320 - $350 range.
Steve
If I was in the market for another camera, I'd be looking this Olympus over very seriously. Hard to beat a camera that's waterproof to 50ft especially when you plan to use it while fishing. Seems to be rather compact making it easy to carry without bulging in your pockets. Looks like a super deal and the price is not out of this world either..

Edit: Plus there are a host of accessories that you can add to it if you wish. Read the reviews..

Last edited:

racermo