Need advice on rod choice

johnhornby

Hello, I am looking to add a 3 weight rod to my arsenal for fishing small creeks in Wyoming. I have a 6-1/2 foot ShuFly 3 weight which is just too short. I am pretty sure I need something 8-9 feet long. I don't want to pay over $150, and preferably much less, and am willing to consider a used rod. I have been looking at one of these: https://www.bigyflyco.com/zdffr-2-detail.htm in a 3 weight which I know I can get elsewhere for $150 new. I have a 4 and 5 weight Nano and I like them a lot.

I'm no beginner fisherman. Have been fly fishing trout since 1965, but I have never been a big equipment person... which is why I am asking for advice. I might add a 3 weight Euro rod at some point, even the Nano series one, but the general purpose fly rod for mostly dry flies and so on is first priority.

I appreciate any advice. Please, no direct offers, just advice on what brand/models would be awesome!

Cheers!

John Hornby

Old Man

A very Old Man
WFF Supporter
I use a TFO Finesse rod that is 7'9" and is a 3wt. I fish the hell out of this rod in the summertime. But it is probably out of your price range. I bought it about 5 or 6 years ago and paid $179.00 for it new. The price has probably gone up by now. I only fish small skinny water with it.

They are now priced at $229.95

Last edited:

IHFISH

WFF Supporter
I have really enjoyed my Echo Carbon XL 376. A few inches under and few dollars over your preferred price range, but not by much.

johnhornby

I forgot to mention I want a soft to moderate action. Most of the casts will be very short, like no more than 15-25 feet.

jasmillo

WFF Supporter
I bought a glass rod (Echo River Glass) last year that I have really enjoyed fishing. Might want to consider something like that. Otherwise, stonefish nailed it with the classic trout recommendation in that price range for that application.

johnhornby