Mono Rigs

jaredoconnor

WFF Supporter
Does anyone else here fish a mono rig?

I've used one for most of the summer and I'm sold on it now. However, I'm still learning and there isn't anywhere to discuss this system. I figured maybe this could become a dedicated thread.

Edit: This article might be controversial for some folks and the title of the article probably doesn't help, so I'm going to clarify a few things.

The writer doesn't claim this is a perfect solution for all scenarios. If you read his other articles, he's very clear about the disadvantages. He is of the opinion that you should use the best tool for the job and that this is just another tool, albeit one that fits his needs more often than others. He isn't into euro nymphing and there's articles explaining his stance on that. He uses fairly general purpose gear, so he can easily switch between a mono rig and a traditional rig as needed.

This rig is nothing like gear fishing. You can think of it as just a very light fly line, because that's what it is. Much of the time, you can cast it the same way as a normal fly line.

I encourage people to be open minded and do some investigation, before writing things off. Your fishing and life in general will be better for it. At the very least, I suggest actually reading the article before commenting; you'll see that most negative comments you can make have been thoroughly addressed already.

Last edited:

PhilR

WFF Supporter
It's about the only way I nymph anymore, using the TB system. Either a heavy stonefly on the bottom, or sometimes I'll drop shot with couple of split shot on the bottom tag. I usually use an 11 ft 2 wt ARE rod, but I've also had success with a 6-6 CGR, when that was all I had. I'm still learning, too.

MGTom

Living at the place of many waters
WFF Supporter