Gyotaku Fish Prints

thatguyryry

I'm starting to think about doing some of my own prints. Can I see some of your guys' prints or get some tips and tricks?

VMP

I first saw gyotaku in action at Naoki Hayashi studio in Kaneohe as he printed a nice omilu a friend of mine had caught a few hours earlier, another local friend knew Naoki so he gave us a little tour of his studio as he shared with us his philosophy of art, I never took a class from him but I was hooked!
Some humble prints below (along with my avatar!) that I made during the last four years or so. Clearly not all of them caught on flies, nor caught locally, but they all tasted great after experimenting with gyotaku. I say experimenting cause I am no professional artist (not that it is not obvious...), nevertheless it is fun and as my wife says, addictive, as she once found me on the kitchen way past midnight with a bunch of our kid's acrylics...
As for tips (there are books about this and plenty other sources, including professionals, so take this with a grain of salt...nothing like your own experience and tolerance to frustration to learn anything):
* Use acrylics or other paints/inks that are not toxic (if you plan to eat the "model" afterwards)
* If you travel, have with you a small "field kit" of basics so you can print while away
* Get rid of any slime and pat/air dry the fish so the paint/ink adheres properly
* Start with more 2D fish (flatfish are the easiest), more 3D fish (sculpins, shellfish, tunas, etc) are a bit more tricky
* Although rice paper is traditional, high-quality paper can get pretty expensive. I started with my kid's art paper, butcher paper, old cotton t-shirts, etc. Stay away from synthetic fabrics
* Paint the eyes after the print
* Have fun! If you have kids, probably they would love to help, at least mine does!
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

Last edited:

Mark Melton