Skykomish fishing during the winter

I'm a novice and this is my first Winter fly fishing. I've been catching trout on the Sky during the summer but not much at all over the past month or so. Today I went to the Tye, Foss, and Beckler rivers and got NO ACTION, not even bites. I was using both dry and wet flies.

Are the fish somewhere else these days because of the cold weather? Any insight is helpful.

Thanks.

Matt B

WFF Supporter
I'm a novice and this is my first Winter fly fishing. I've been catching trout on the Sky during the summer but not much at all over the past month or so. Today I went to the Tye, Foss, and Beckler rivers and got NO ACTION, not even bites. I was using both dry and wet flies.

Are the fish somewhere else these days because of the cold weather? Any insight is helpful.

Thanks.
The water gets cold and the trouts’ metabolism slow down. They don’t feed as much, or as aggressively. Try to find deeper slower water and probe that. Or fish around salmon. A lot of times trout are looking for snacks stirred up or dropped by salmon. Or, find a different fishery. Or, get used to slow action and enjoy the fresh air. Good luck!

Oh damn, you're right, they were closed on 10/31! Oops.

Without giving away any top secret spots (unless you want to), are there any rivers/streams/creeks you all recommend for the winter?

jaredoconnor

WFF Supporter
There aren't really many good winter trout fishing options on the west side of the cascades. I believe the lower Snoqualmie and middle fork are open all year. You're probably best off driving over to Yakima River.