Trip Report - SRC first season

adamcu280

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm a marine biologist that moonlights as a professional skier in the winter. I've been in Washington for over two decades (came up to study killer whales when I was fresh out of high school and never left) but for some reason haven't dedicated much time to saltwater fishing here. Kind of funny since saltwater fishing was basically all I did from 10-16. I live in the foothills of the Cascades and fish lakes and creeks all the time but in the past 15 years, most of my saltwater fishing's happened "on the clock" as part of whale research trips. We're often cruising offshore at 10kts looking for whales, and just happen to be dragging a lure or two behind us, and just happen to every so often hook tuna, wahoo, mahi, blue marlin... Not that I'm complaining!

Anyways, this year all of my far flung research projects got cancelled so, starting mid-summer, I picked up some work on the Kitsap Peninsula. I decided I'd look more closely at these SRC that I've heard and read so much about.

Here's the story of my first few months chasing sea run cutthroat.

Part One - A New Hope
During July and August I'd get off work in the early afternoon so there was plenty of time to check out different places. I'd often meet up with some friends and usually end up watching them catch fish while I caught the bottom, or myself, or something other than a SRC. Catching shiner perch brought back memories of catching and selling those for striper and halibut bait as a kid. Bullheads were a dime a dozen, but I outdid myself with this 461mm beast. A quick check of the scientific literature shows that this is about as big as they've ever been recorded so unless anyone else has a better claim, I'm claiming 4x tippet world record. IMG_20200728_060649_217.jpg

I caught all sorts of other random stuff in my quest, including this rockfish...
MVIMG_20200724_143900.jpg

and another blast from my past, a starry flounder