COVID Exposure Notification System

jaredoconnor

WFF Supporter
Lots of you might have seen this today, but I thought I would post it for those who haven't. The COVID exposure notification system, developed jointly by Apple and Google, was launched in WA today. If you have an up to date iPhone, it is already built into your phone and you probably got a prompt about it already. If you have an Android phone, you can download the app from Google Play. I have enabled it and I recommend everyone enables it, to help our state get through this mess. I also encourage everyone to share it around; the more people who use it, the better it will work.

Below is a video that explains how it works.

Below is the Google Play link.

Below are iPhone instructions, if you didn't get the alert already.

Full disclosure: I am a software engineer at Google, but my work has nothing to do with this system; I am just a user, like you. I am very security and privacy conscious. I don't even trust my wife on our home wifi; her laptop is relegated to the guest network. I put my tin foil hat on about most things related to tech, particularly things like the third party COVID tracking apps. However, I trust this system and believe this will really save lives.

Last edited:

Zak

WFF Supporter
I downloaded and installed it from the Google Play Store earlier today. I'm very glad that Washington joined other states in implementing this system. It seems most helpful if you click the option to send anonymized data to the Department of health, so they can track the outbreak.

Philonius

WFF Supporter
Thanks for posting this. It seems the system addresses most reasonable privacy/security concerns, and could be useful in slowing the spread of infection. I do wonder though: