NFR Tips and tricks for camp fires in the wet forest of NW WA?

Jiminsandiego

Building a campfire in the South West is usually quite easy. I've done it hundreds of times. But now that I live in western Washington I find it necessary to learn the "ways of the land" when it comes to making a campfire here. I am currently studying "fat wood". After finding some, and playing with it in my kitchen, I am amazed at how flammable it is. Anyhow.....I realize that this is a very broad subject but...I'd like to get better at starting a campfire in wet conditions and any input would be most appreciated.

Jiminsandiego

A retired fireman once showed me that if you can get an empty (plastic) milk jug to catch a flame it makes starting a campfire very easy. I've used that tip many times (with all types of plastic) and I always think of Kirby the fireman.

Yard Sale

Huge Member
A retired fireman once showed me that if you can get an empty (plastic) milk jug to catch a flame it makes starting a campfire very easy. I've used that tip many times (with all types of plastic) and I always think of Kirby the fireman.

WTF?

At the very least throw down a couple paper plates and a mound of basic charcoal and get that going.
At Best buy a cheapo bbq and use the top half as a fire pan and have a fire in that.
Basically the only reason it’s hard to light a fire in wet territory is that it sucks up the moisture out of the ground. Create a barrier and you will have success.

SHD

I don’t use primitive fire starting methods when camping and generally have some dry stuff ready before I go out. I always carry a bunch of free newspapers in the rig (The Stranger, Seattle Weekly etc). Crumple a bunch of sheets into balls at the base of your fire area on top of a flat bed of dry sticks. Build a teepee of smaller kindling on top of the paper balls and carefully balance a few larger pieces of wood around that. Light fire starting with The paper balls at the core. Add wood as necessary.