GPS Recommendation for Remote Hiking/Fishing

BriGuy

My son and his girlfriend hike into some very remote high country places around Washington and Oregon. They are good about telling us where they are hiking and letting us know when they are out of the hills and woods, but my wife and I still worry they'll get lost or injured and may need assistance.

So, we're thinking of getting them a reliable and simple GPS emergency beacon or communicator where they can signal for help. There seems to be a ton of options, so any recommendations from those of you with experience would really be appreciated.

Thanks.

Lance Magnuson

WFF Supporter
I’ve been hiking in mountains for over 45 years. We never had location beacons to transmit if we were in trouble. I’d suggest buying them a good compass and altimeter then telling them to learn how to use them. Along with USGS topographical maps they’ll be prepared. If they let you know where they’re hiking with date when they’ll be out, your role a parent is covered.

jaredoconnor

WFF Supporter
I used to have one, when I lived in Australia, and I'm considering buying another one. SPOT and Garmin devices seem to be the most popular. I will probably get a Garmin inReach Mini. I don't think anyone can really tell you what is best for you though, because everyone will want different features. If you're comparing SPOT and Garmin devices, I think the variables below are probably the most notable.
  • Budget
  • 2 way messaging vs. 1 way messaging
  • Navigation tools (maps, compass, weather, etc.)
  • Larger screen on the device (larger device) vs. pairing with phone (compact device)
I think once you figure those things out, the right product will become easy to choose.

Gyrfalcon21

Honoring Vets
I have 40+ years on trails and any safety device is a great thing, why not? BUT, as long as it is not a safety crutch and gives false confidence.