13’ 7wt rod (Orvis Clearwater and Mission); 520 gr 19’ head; 12.5’ T14 tip: BLOWING ANCHORS!

Salvy

Been steelhead fishing once
Disclaimer: I am new to Skagit casting.

I have been using this setup on a particular river that usually has trees up against my back or at least close enough to limit the size of the D-loop. It has worked well to date. After casting in a more open setting from gravel bars and riffle corners, my tendency is to lengthen the casting stroke and PSSST- blown anchor. It was like a curse, no matter what I did, I was blowing the anchor. I would add running line outside the tip. I would slow way down, and this helped some, but I was losing the crispness to my setup movements (in this case double-Spey). I am 6’1” with arms like meat hooks so I think this leads to a longer casting stroke too.

Is the solution to go to a more traditional length head (e.g., 27’)? Will this help prevent blowing anchors?

I would like to keep the short head for tight quarters fishing as I initially described and have a longer head for open rivers. Is this a logical conclusion from my experience? I speak from intuition and experience, not knowledge.

Recommendations for a longer head would be appreciated if you are willing.

Lastly, other observations, comments, or recommendations from my description are welcome.

Thank you.

Gregobr

WFF Supporter
Watch your anchor, literally eyes on it. Adjust your sweep speed and height/trajectory so that when D loop is formed the sink tip is all, or at least mostly still in the water then deliver. Bottom hand is your friend. That said, 19' is on the short side for my preference, I'd prefer about 22-23' and typically use 10' tips.

Salvy

I appreciate your responses bhudda and Gregobr. Just went to the local fly shop and talked to the owner. He recommended the RIO Skagit Max in 500 gr 23' head. He said the slow action of the Orvis Clearwater and Mission would fit a 500 gr better than a 525. I listened. I purchased.