Help identifying old fly rod

soshoenice

Good evening everyone, I’m just getting into the sport of fly fishing and I received this pole as a gift a few years back. I took the pole into orvis earlier today and the advice I was given was to come here and ask the opinion of the forum. They suspected it to be a bamboo rod and old however I nor them are certain of anything. If anyone knows what this pole is or what it is worth I’d appreciate the knowledge. Also I’m wondering if this is a pole I should use or if I would be better off getting a new set up. thank you everyone for your time and I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season.

Attachments

• 9F8AACD2-95FE-4ED0-BAB9-13ED8B1C0A6E.jpeg
    9F8AACD2-95FE-4ED0-BAB9-13ED8B1C0A6E.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 201
  • 7B62EC8E-6B0E-4EFE-8384-8265182457F4.jpeg
    7B62EC8E-6B0E-4EFE-8384-8265182457F4.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 203
  • C45D5552-C952-4928-9599-0D08BD1D9A21.jpeg
    C45D5552-C952-4928-9599-0D08BD1D9A21.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 199

soshoenice

As a pole, what you have there is worth about $1.29. If it's a bamboo fly rod by a major rod maker it looks to be worth at least $150, and it could be worth a lot more if it can be identified.
Thanks for the response! Any suggestions on how to identify the rod?

rawalker

there should be some markings/writing near the handle: maker. line weight, something that would give a clue. If there is, clear, close-up photos would be a great help.

Greg Armstrong

WFF Supporter
All bamboo rods are pretty in their own way, as someone had to take some time and build them by hand.
This one appears to me to be a lower grade rod that has been re-done at some point, or at the very least it's been re-varnished. It appears to have a short tip (all sections are normally the same length) and it is also missing the second tip (most bamboo rods came with two tips).