Snoqualmie Pass During Winter

jaredoconnor

WFF Supporter
It has been a few weeks since I hit up a river and I'm itching. My local river is closed now and I heard the Snoqualmie forks are high, so I'm considering making the drive over to the Yak.

I've never done the drive during winter, so I'm not sure what I'm up for. Also, coming from a country that is 90% desert, I have limited snow driving experience. I did drive to Whistler once though, in the middle of pretty heavy snowfall.

The road conditions page says chains are required, except for AWD/4WD vehicles. I have a Subaru Crosstrek, but only standard all season tires. Am I good to go, or do I have to buy tire socks?

Should I expect the drive to take five times longer than usual? Google Maps says 1.25h to Cle Elum, but that is about how long it takes without snow.

Last edited:

quilbilly

Big Time Hater
Lol

It can be tough.
Depends on the driver and the day.
I carry chains when driving over the pass in the winter.
Be sure and gopro/ dashcam the trip so we can critique.
;)
Get the chains, things change fast and you don't want to be that guy.

Jojo

A sometimes eternal optimist
WFF Supporter
Because my husband is from Eastern Washington and is very close with his family we have made trip over the pass way more times than i ever wanted to. For ten years in a row we traveled on Christmas morning to get to his mom’s house. After awhile it made no sense for us to keep going there when most of the other family members were living on this side. (However we still go to see his sister in Pasco. )

One time I-90 was like a skating rink and the traffic was moving at 25 mph. It took us 8 hours to get there. (This was before cell phones. I was so exhausted from being scared that i went straight to bed after eating turkey dinner.) But that was one time out of many many times. We did have one time when we had to stay overnight when I-90 was shut down. But it was kind of an adventure.