Pre-spawn on the west side for Bass?

Jiminsandiego

Pre-spawn time for Bass has always been "productive" for me. The larger females often eat like "a fat woman at the buffet". The transition from winter sluggishness into gorging on everything, is a matter of timing. The bass lakes near Anacortes are probably getting ready to "pop". In a month or two the pre-spawn will have passed. I'm very new to this fishery and am hoping for some insight. Is the buffet open or will it take a few more weeks?

Stonefish

Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
People are catch bass right now in west side lowland lakes.
SF

Jiminsandiego

That's encouraging Stonefish. I wonder what the water temp is. Lake Whatcom Smallmouth Bass's pre spawn is something I do not want to miss. Clear Lake Largemouth pre-spawn is something that I will not miss. I know that just going fishing is the answer, but I feel that my "newbyness" could be minimized by the fine folks on this forum.

Stonefish

Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater....Know Grizzler
Water is still cold, which means start slow with your presentations and get more aggressive with them as the water warms.
SF

Smalma

With the beginning of warming water temperatures the larger smallmouth should be moving shallower by the day. With next week's weather report it should be game on with some as shallow as 6 feet locked to some structure. Rarely a huge numbers game this early but really nice average size and a chance at the season's best fish.

For largemouth on the shallower lakes there should be catchable fish though over the years my best period for a giant female was 4 to 6 weeks from now with water temperature (a foot below the surface) in the upper 50s.

Curt

wanative

Retired, gone fishin'
WFF Supporter
Lake Whatcom doesn't open until the lowland lake opener in April.
Smallies are pre spawn to bedding on the opener.
It's not too early for LMB but it will be slow fishing for a while yet. Watch water temps for 50 degrees and up.