Fly Fishing during Lower Lena Lake backpacking trip?

Galaga

In two weekends, I'm going on my very first backpacking trip. I'm also brand new to any type of fly fishing.

Do you guys think Lower Lena Lake could be a place that someone could catch some fish in mid May?

Last edited:

Brian Miller

Be vewy vewy qwiet, I'm hunting Cutthwoat Twout
WFF Supporter
I've caught fish in an alpine lake with a 3.9 meter T-rod and 4 meter level line. It helped that it wasn't long after meltoff, it was late afternoon on a sunny day, there was a lot of nearshore insect activity in the air and on the surface of the water, and there was a downslope breeze that was blowing the fish's prey to me and also causing ripples on the water helping to hide my presence so the fish would come close enough. I've also fished mid-morning with a 3.9 meter rod and a 6 meter level line on a sunny day with no wind and watched as fish were actively feeding about 30'-35' out; just a bit farther out than I could cast.

Last edited:

Brian Miller

WFF Supporter
Are you sure it’s ice-free? How much snow will you have to hike thru?

sorry haven’t fished it before.
Good point! It's only at 1800 feet but the Gaia FreshSat imagery from 4/25 is totally washed out from snow, er probably clouds.

Last edited:

Salmo_g

WFF Supporter
It's been a long while, but my recollection is that there is not a lot of fly fishable shoreline, so if you have a packraft or float tube to get out on the water you will likely fare better. Can't remember if the lake has cutthroat or brook trout, but they are small and should be hungry, and therefore catchable.

Brian Miller

WFF Supporter
It's been a long while, but my recollection is that there is not a lot of fly fishable shoreline, so if you have a packraft or float tube to get out on the water you will likely fare better. Can't remember if the lake has cutthroat or brook trout, but they are small and should be hungry, and therefore catchable.