Where to Start With Fly Fishing Equipment

herkileez

WFF Supporter
I'm by no means an expert flyfisher, but stronger and more experienced in some areas than in others. I remember how overwhelming it was to get started, not knowing what equipment to buy, or how to balance an outfit toward the type of fishing I wanted to do. I made many early mistakes, largely resulting from the lack of solid advice available locally. Years later, I made up a guide sheet for local fishers, to help reduce some of the confusion. It is geared toward my local fishing opportunities, but can be tweaked toward a wider range of conditions. Anyway, for beginners, it's a start. Feel free to comment and improve upon it:

Fly Fishing Equipment Guide – How to get started

Are you Interested in fly fishing, but don’t know where to start? This guide will help you in choosing the right equipment:
The first step is to decide upon the type of fishing that interests you and use the table below as a guideline. A decent fishing package does not need to be expensive, but equipment quality generally follows price. A good rule of thumb: buy the best rod you can afford, choosing one in a medium, or medium-fast action. The next most important choice is a good quality line, properly matched to the rod. The first line to purchase is a floating line, either in weight forward, or double taper design. This line is the most versatile, allowing you to fish dry flies, and, by attaching various sinking leaders, wet flies. If you plan on fishing lakes, a full-sink line would be a good addition. However, to start, most of your fishing would likely be based on a floating line. Some decent starter rod/reel/line packages can be found in the $150 - $200 range.