Tiger Muskie

N. Metz

Hey everybody.

I was hoping you could lend me your experience concerning tiger muskies. Where do you tend to find them?

I've been trying for muskies and more specifically tigers recently. I caught my first tiger yesterday (a small one) in about 15 feet of water. I was adjacent to a small island of tullies that is surrounded by 12ish feet of water on one side and a steep drop from 6 to 20 and then a gradual drop from 20 to 30 on the other side. Fly was down about 8 feet and I fishing the steep drop.

Is that a typical spot you find em in? I just figured "that spot looks fishy as hell" when looking at the depth chart and fished it.

I have a lot of experience with pike and a few "tiger experts" I've talked to have said they behave similarly to pike. Usually, once the water hits the high 50s the bigger pike are down deep. Does that seem to hold true for tigers?

Any other wisdom you got?

Thanks,

Nick

dustinchromers

Are you fishing in Washington? If so what lake? Pm if you wish but there is a limited and listed number of lakes that have them.

In general musky are associated with structure and are in structure or adjacent. They are found mostly in places they can set up a good ambush. Structure can be the following: rocky reefs, edges on drop offs, weed beds, downed wood, rises in bottom topography, docks or other man made items, and the often overlooked floating log or tree adrift in the lake. They are normally not in deep water or at least not accessible to the average fly rig. I find 75% of my fish around the edges of the lake in water I can see the bottom in. Mileage may vary based on specific bodies of water but the above is a good general rule of thumb.

N. Metz