NFR The Big Ask - The Big Give - Kidney

runningfish

Hello everyone,
My name is Burhan Ge but I always go by Hans. I haven't been active lately on the forum since I sold my last switch rod man moons ago. I wanted to share my recent life story to you guys.

I was diagnosed with Secondary FSGS and it is in the final stage. My kidney function is currently at 17% and I am in critical need of a kidney transplants before I am forced into dialysis. I have only been sharing this with my inner circle but now I am trying to reach out to more people to help me since it is not realistic to fight this alone. When I was very young; I remembered that I wanted to donate my kidney to someone in need but never thought that I would be the one who is needing it. Every night before bed, I listen to my 6 years old son’s prayer to God to heal my kidney disease. He and his sister are my reasons to fight this condition

I am searching for a living donor as it significantly improves my survival rate and to let me have a better quality of life, expand my life with my wife, be able to see my 10 and 6 years old kids growing up, getting married, have grandchildren, and of course to fly fish and eat a good steak again amongst other things.

A kidney is one of those miraculous organs that you can live a long life just having one of. A donor can go back to his/her daily life is very short time. A woman actually joined the Army after she donated her kidney to her step brother. The benefit of getting a kidney from a living donor is the kidney will last longer; Up to 20 years and more when compared to a kidney from a decease donor.

I am also on a kidney transplant waiting list from decease donors, but the waiting is long and while waiting I have to be on dialysis with a lot of risks like infection and complication that I’d rather not think of and definitely scarier than them spiders!