New Fly Fisher -Skagit River

wiggl

Hello,
I am new to fly fishing and live near the Skagit River and would love to try my luck fishing it. I'm not familiar with accessible spots along the river, stretches of the river that are best, when is the best time throughout the year, and what flies the fish may be attracted to.
I think I would like to start higher up near Marblemount area for trout since I currently only have an Echo 9' 5wt, and then work my way down for pinks once I get the hang of it.
Any advice, tips, or knowledge would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

DimeBrite

5X Celebrity Jeopardy Champion
The Skagit is a large river with large fish (salmon, steelhead, char). You will need to read the regulations and read about run timing. Pink salmon is a good place to start with a 6 weight.

wiggl

The Skagit is a large river with large fish (salmon, steelhead, char). You will need to read the regulations and read about run timing. Pink salmon is a good place to start with a 6 weight.
Yeah I was reading the regs earlier and looking on google maps for all the borders, next I’ll try looking up the run timing.

vader

Skagit should be full of pinks when it opens. I would start down in Sedro Wolley to Hamilton area first. Further along in Sept look for them up in Marbalemont area. Get a map and follow the roads that go to the river. Some will have access some will not. When I first started that is what I did. I found access points and then wished I had a boat, another story. Have fun, the pinks are a blast

vader

Funny story, at least to me. When I first fished WA it was an odd year. Got a road map and found access around Sedro Wolley. I had no clue what I was doing but found tons of fish. Through a pink fly and got fish. I thought way this is great WA is just like Alaska. Went to the same spots a year later and nothing. For years never figured out why no fish. Oh the good old days of exploring.

hedburner