beach rights & property access issues

Puget sound has many homes on the shorelines including high & low bank access. The question as to whether or not a property located on the waterfront has actual private beach rights is questionable. I have heard arguments regarding mean tide lines & navigable water rights, but does anyone have any facts on the issue?
I was fishing today on a beach I have been fishing for 3 years now. Today I was casting on a part of the beach with a high cliff wall behind me ( about 60 feet high). There are stairs leading up the cliff so obvoiusly the property owner has access to the beach via these stairs.
I noticed an old guy watching me from the stairs & I waved.
-No response other than a turned back as he walked away.
A few minutes later I noticed a rock hit the water 20 feet to my left, a moment later another... 20 feet to my right. obvoiusly the old turd was chucking rocks at me! What a freak!
I walked down the beach to avoid confrontation, but it seems like if there are multiple houses along the shoreline who is to say that I am not a resident there?
The beach is relatively flat & low tide will expose at least 100 feet of cobbled beach so it is not like I am on anyones front lawn.
More importantly I wondered if anyone could shed some light on property owners rights who live along the beach are strictly allowed on only their section of beach or, is it considered trespassing if I walk the length of the beach? My brother's house is among many on the shoreline so I have an open invite to be there, but is that restricted only to that section which is directly in front of his house?
Usually folks are very nice & like to watch me fly-fish but this was an unusual circumstance, and I do feel since I was invited to be on the beach that wandering around is not a trespassing situation?

salt dog

card shark
Fish, beach rights are a convoluted story that fills many books.