best site or book for tying flies

I am fairly new to tying flies with a lot to learn. I feel like I'm spending more time searching for a video or instructions on how to tie NW flies then I actually do tying. Any suggestions on good sites or a good book to invest in? Thank you!!

jwg

Cannot say whats best, but here are two good resources.

http://www.charliesflyboxinc.com/flybox/index.cfm
this site has lots of fly patterns and detailed instructions

youtube, search Davie McPhail
lots of video demonstrating some very nice flies.

However, neither of these helps you know what patterns to start with and progress you through increasingly difficult skills. I suggest you check out your local library for books that will help in this regard. There are many many books on flytying.

P.S. also see if your local flyfishing club has flytying classes. You can also see fly tying demos at sportsmen's shows, although most of those are in the winter spring.

Thank you. I'll for sure look into the website and youtube video. I was very disappionted with the libraries selection :-( Would be nice to find a good book for my nook.
Thanks again for the advice.

the best book for techniques is the following: the fly tiers benchside reference

http://www.amazon.com/The-Fly-Tiers...81263/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b/176-5902061-7967235

one of the best books for beginners is the following: basic fly tying by charlie craven

http://www.amazon.com/Charlie-Crave...=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1338458012&sr=1-1

a good beginner site is the following by dave cammiss

http://learnflytying.co.uk/

davie mcphail has good video and even some basic fly tying but i think his material is too advanced for a beginner

most fly tying videos simply assume you know how to tie flies and dont usually teach the how and the whys of fly tying

dogsnfish