Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok.

I'm brand new to spey fishing and am in the "acquiring the right stuff" stage. I've purchased the videos and I am lookin' at taking Red's Fly shop's beginning class.

I am going to start with a St Croix Avid 13' 7/8 weight rod with a 550 grain Rio Skagit line. It looks like I don't need a cheater with that combination of rod and line. Do I?

Can I throw any length of sink tip that I want with this set up? (15' or under)

How long should the leader be?

Many thanks in advance.

Rob

·
483 Posts
I found, as a newbie myself, that the Rio versitp let me experienment a bit with different tips, different weights of flies and learning how to load the line properly. From there I have been able to experiment with different lengths of tips (T14) for different river conditions.

·
Registered
15,547 Posts
Robi,

You might ask around regarding what weight Skagit head to use on that rod. I use a 450 gn on my 7 wt and a 550 on my 8/9 and 9 wt rods. That has me thinking a 500 gn might be a better fit for your 7/8 wt.

I don't use a cheater on 13 or 14' rods using 27' Skagit heads.

I can throw up to 15' of T-14 with my 550, but honestly, it's not fun. 15' of T-8, or 10 or 12' of T-11 is a lot more comfortable. And most comfortable of all are the 15' type III and type VI Rio tips, which meet most of my steelheading needs. I found that I don't often need any of the T-stuff.

Sg

·
I'd rather be reading water
138 Posts
Holy cow, is there a book that anyone can recommend about learning spey from a complete newbie perspective.

Spey for Dummies?

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Indeed there is, but you have to read every post in the Spey Clave Forum. Post the questions here. Your a nice guy. They helped me and I'm a jerk, so you are set!

·
No longer here
4,034 Posts