Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have all of the materials but the plywood. I have lots of carpentry experience and have spent a ton of time reserching all kinds of stuff on building a boat.
T don'tthink it will be that difficult but it would be good to find someone who built one that can tell me any shortcuts or tricks they found in thier toils.
I have wanting to do this for years. NOWS THE TIME!!!

·
Outa here
1,155 Posts
Use good plywood, use good epoxy (I like the system 3 stuff, it's a bit more forgiving temperature wise I think) sharpen your tools, you can't f?!#$ up when you sweep up, start now.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm ready. I have a full shop with sharp tools. i was born in a hombuilder household the winter lasts a long time here in northern Pa. this should keep me buisy for a while.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I'm ready. I have a full shop with sharp tools. i was born in a hombuilder household the winter lasts a long time here in northern Pa. this should keep me buisy for a while.
Randy,

Here's a thought....why not document your build and post it on this forum? It would be a few extra steps for you, but it would be fun to see what you go through to build it. I've seen guys do that on other forums (guitar building comes to mind) and it usually attracts a massive following.

Bob

·
Registered
449 Posts
Use marine grade plywood. Not sure if you will be fiberglassing the plywood but fir plywood will check unless encapsulated in fiberglass/epoxy. Some guys don't mind the checking but I can't stand it. I used okoume plywood on my stitch and glue driftboat....there are some pictures in my gallery of my boat build. You'll also save a boatload of cash buying RAKA epoxies over the system 3 and west system epoxies. I had zero issues with the RAKA stuff and it seems to have a pretty good following in the stitch and glue boatbuilding world.

Josh

·
Registered
14 Posts