Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will preface this report by saying I am not sure i was doing things right in the whole swinging flies department.

I took my switch rod down to the Clearwater and fished for two days with a buddy. Stayed at the Konkolville motel, an awesome place with awesome prices! I highly recommend it! The people were amazing and the cook your own steak dinner was really good!

Day One- floated in a cataraft from Lenore to Cherry Lane bridge. It was awesome to be out on the river. We swung in the 4-5 ft water and i nymphed the deeper holes as we floated through. My friend had one hookup with no landing and I put a hefty 0 up on the board for day one. It was only the second time out with the switch, i was really getting the hang of it.:thumb:

Day Two- we decided not to float today since we were on a short day and the rain will take some of that motivation away. We started fishing a sweet run below Harpers bend. I got a little snag and gave it a little tug just like any other snag and my rod exploded in my hands. I was surprised and not happy. So that ended my day of fishing. No hookups and a broken rod to boot! I decided to leave the river and head home. My buddy put up a 0 as well that day.

All in all the Clearwater was an awesome place to fish! It was very beautiful and i saw some fish holding in waters that i may have a chance at if i ever figure out what i am doing! There were fish being caught by gear guys both days. I will hopefully be heading back soon, when i can get a new rod and figure this whole thing out! I had a ton of fun and I must say I was double spey casting pretty nice, was only shooting a little line but it was a nice looking 55 ft. cast! Which was good for me, being self taught.

BIG THANKS TO-
Mark Speer- it was great to meet you! Thanks for all the info you really helped!