Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this forum, so I am sorry to jump right in with questions. I am considering buying a single person pontoon boat to use primarily on the Yakima. I have almost no paddle experience, and have some questions. First, are pontoon boats a good and safe way to fish the Yakima? Would it be advisable to take some paddling lessons before launching, or is it pretty straightforward? Is it easy to fish directly from a pontoon boat, or would I just be stopping at good spots and getting out? I know, pretty ignorant questions, but I am new at this. Finally, any particular recommendations for boats? I've been looking at he Outcast PAC-900FS. Anyone have experience with this?

I appreciate any help and will try to pay back the forum somehow down the road. Thanks

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
Welcome - except during the highest flows, and qualifying that statement with "depending on the hazards present and your level of experience on graded water" you can use a pontoon boat effectively on the Yakima. Even more so during period of low flow, read "shoulder seasons." Small craft are especially useful when dragging around log jams, diversion dams (when necessary).

Now, temper my opinion with the fact that I've only observed guys in various sizes on pontoon on the river. I guide out of a drift boat, but I've piloted on rivers for 30 of my 39 years on this planet, from the Upper Rio Grande, The Colorado, The San Juan, the Green (UT), the Arkansas, Conejos, Yakima, Kootenai, etc...

Again, welcome to the forum!

Derek

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts