Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm looking for some sea kayak fishing advice. I currently have a self bailing inflatable sea kayak but want to upgrade.
I've started checking out northwestkayakanglers but thought you all would know as well.

Here's some of the planned uses.
1) Being able to kayak in both rivers, open ocean and the sound
2) Multi day trips
2) Have the ability to mount rod holders

What would people recommend sit on top? Sit in?
Brand?

Also, I work at a non-profit so my budget is in the low end...

Thanks for the help!

Ben

·
Registered
899 Posts
Ben, I've been fishing from Ocean Kayak Sit-On-Tops for a few years now, and really enjoy it. Though not as fast as a regular sea kayak, they are a lot faster and more seaworthy than a pram, rowboat, or pontoon boat. You can buy or make a cart so you can haul the boat into access points or across the beach. Advantages of a Sit-On-Top are: (1) Easy to get on and off the boat to fish from the beach; (2) All of your gear is easily accessible; (3) lots of room for rod holders, fish finders, etc...; (4) The boats are very tough & virtually unsinkable; and (5) Many models are specifically designed for fishing.

I started out with an Ocean Kayak Scrambler, which was fun but too small for a big guy like me. I actually tipped over one time when a big wave came in while I was landing a fish. Two years ago I upgrades to an OK Drifter, which is a substantially wider and more stable boat, much more suitable for fly fishing. The Drifter is a "wetter ride" than some of the newer fishing kayaks, like the OK Prowler or Big Game. I've been very impressed with the Hobie Mirage-drive boats, that you can pedal to keep your hands free.

I've never drifted a river or gone overnight in my kayak, but there's no reason you couldn't. There's plenty of rook under the hatches, and you'd be OK as long as you packed light.

Hope this helps.

Tom

·