Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fly fishing and would like to know what fishing spots (river or lake) are fairly close to Seattle (say within a 30 minute drive).
I went to the middle fork snoqualmie trailhead - beautiful place. Just wondering what is closer.

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Lucky Jack, have you invested in a map yet? Use a good map, such as the DeLorme Gazzateer and your regs to see what is in your local area and go exploring. Post that you are headed out and see if anyone can show you around. Rattlesnake Lake is not far from Seattle. The Cedar River is another option. There are lots of places discussed in thread after thread on the forum. Check your regs to see what is open and if any special rules are in effect for the areas you go fishing and use those maps to find some fun.

·
Just an Old Man
35,199 Posts
THere is nothing close to Seattle. But if you do a search you will find a few spots closer to home to go hit. I have listed a few. All it takes is some gas and a will to drive a little bit.

·
Registered
3,280 Posts
30 minutes from Ballard is not a very big area!!!!

You mentioned lakes so you must have some sort of floating device to fish from. With that in mind and 30 minutes you have Green Lake, Lake Washington, the south end around Coulon Park, Seward Park, the Arboretum, and then the south end of Lake Sammamish. Pine and Beaver lakes up on the plateau above Issaqua are also options. The forks of the Snoqualmie, north of North Bend and east of Snoqualmie is a moving water option. Then there is Linclon Park in West Seattle that is a salt water show and fished from the beach.