Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!
785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys well i just got back form the inaugural running of the Ronde in my brand spanking new raft! It was a hoot!!! Before i start rambling I want to give a big thanks to Jarad Skeels, with out him I would have done A LOT more pinballing!

Friday- Arrived mid afternoon, decided to do a little fishing after i claimed a camping spot. In 3 hours of fishing i hooked two and lost them both. I figured the next two days of the float would be a fishapoluza. I was wrong.

Saturday- Floated from Cable Car (cougar creek) to bogans. TOO HOT!! Was bright and sunny, i was burning up, made for a beautiful day of sightseeing. Skeels hooked two or three i think, with no fish to hand. Other fishing buddy found a native steel in the shallows acting very weird. It was half belly up, had some energy but wasn't going to make it, with no discerning marks we have no idea what happened to this beautiful fish...maybe caught and handled roughly? But that doesn't count as a catch because it was with his hands. We tried to revive it but it no avail. :beathead:

Sunday- after hearing various reports we decided to do the same float. Again hot as balls. Water temp actually increased that day. Heard the water temp was low 60's although i did not have a thermometer to confirm, but it sure felt that. Allow me to use a football analogy for this next part, It was the 4th quarter 1 second on the clock, 4th and goal at the 1 yard line. Skeels comes through with a nymphed up fish!!! Two turns before bogans. Hatchery Brat!! WOOHOO! That makes the trip a no skunk and good mojo for my new boat!:thumb: We did catch a TON of trout. The trout were hitting anything we threw at them. Skeels is also the new Grande Ronde Trout Master, a title i gave him for his uncanny ability to catch trout on a steelhead trip:rofl:.