Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got a Marryat MR7 fly reel (used). I am new to the sport, so bear with me.

It appears that this fly reel has a silent drag and click retrieve. Is that correct? Can I switch it to a click drag? Also, how to I switch from a left-hand to a right-hand retrieve?

Thanks in advance for any insights.

·
Love vintage graphite!
1,125 Posts
Nice reel, but complicated. I wouldn't even begin to try to explain it, but, if you PM me your address I will send you a photocopy of the instructions.

Or, you can send it to Bill Archuleta of Archuleta Reel Works down in Oregon and have him do it. He is the Marryat service rep for the US.

www.archuletasreelworks.com

Lonnie

·
Joe Streamer
4,156 Posts
I've owned the Marryat CMR, and it was silent retrieve and a softer outgoing click. The clicker was strictly a noise-maker with no functional value. You can't make the retrieve click. It is always silent.

BTW, here is the US distributor's website: http://www.anglersportgroup.com/products_subcat.asp?CatID=9

Here is a guy in the US who is Marryat's official service person. Bill is excellent (with all reel makes, not just Marryat): http://archuletasreelworks.com/

·
Custom Title
12,145 Posts
Best advice I ever had on Marryat reels was to hold it over a large salad bowl if you're taking it apart; many, many small parts.