Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having trouble in some cases, selecting the right hook? I'm a novice tyer, and I mostly have experience with tiemco hooks. Not to mention they are the dominant hook on the shelf of my local shop. What do you do when you get a receipe that calls for a Dai-riki, Diiachi??, or mustad, and its not obvious length/gauge/shape? Is there a reference chart or something, or do you just make do????----Jon:hmmm

·
Retired Mod
11,079 Posts
I do believe in using better hooks. I normally buy daiichi's. I do like dairiki's too.

I like hooks that are super sharp right out of pack. I hate having to file/refile all the time. Most of the daiichi's and dairiki's I've used I haven't had to resharpen. They've held their sharpness.

Daiichi has a reference chart. If you email them, they can send you their lists and chart. Shows different makers and what hooks they make comparible. I'm a commercial tyer, so can them pretty cheap. But I prefer to spend the extra money (even before discount). Why spend all that money on good gear, and go cheap on the most important thing of all, the thing holding the fish.

·
Registered
16 Posts
In the back of several of my fly tying/pattern books there are charts listing brand name hook #'s and the equivalent hook # for other major brands. The size of the hook should be about the same no matter what brand it is though. The primary thing you want to pay attention to is the style of hook, since a standard nymph hook is shorter than a streamer hook, and a standard scud hook is still shorter than a standard nymph hook and so on. As long as the style of hook the dressing calls for is used it should not matter what brand it is, i.e. if it calls for a dry fly hook use a dry fly hook in the right size and use whatever brand you have got around.

·
Banned
117 Posts
>I really dont think the hook matters all that much in