Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Fly Guy Eat Pie
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
was having a good discussion with a friend of mine who is not a fly fisher.

Basic question - is fly fishing a diminishing sport? Myself being young, I don't see many fly fisherman my age (mid 20's) or younger. Its often a popular sport among the older folks. So what does WFF think? Is this a fragile culture and sport that will eventually disappear?

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Not if I can help it. I'm the only fly fisher in my family, recently self taught. Both of my daughters 6 and 4 have spinning and fly rods. They both are interested enough to try them from time to time. I'll keep the pressure off but hopefully feed their interest over my own water time anytime they want. I've launched my pontoon boat a number of times this year without a rod of mine onboard just to spend time with them doing whatever they want to do. I can see myself row trolling one of my local stocker lakes with each of them trolling a WB just to see what they do if they hook up. As the fish populations diminish, why not see fly fishing grow as a more challenging way to catch fish? I can't think of any "bait fishing only" places but several "fly fishing only". Maybe that will help.

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
Every time I go to a fly fishing show, like Ellensburg and Albany, OR, I am surprised at the large number of young people who are attending, taking casting lessons and watching tiers dress flies. I'm not talking about just 20 somethings, but teenagers and younger, both male and female. It's really encouraging to an old man like me (over 60) when the young folks sit and watch me tie flies and ask such sophisticated questions about the hows of fly tying but also the whys. A dead or dying sport..don't think so, as long as the younger folks find mentors willing to spend the time and energy to help them along the way.

REE

·
Fly Guy Eat Pie
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·