Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to fly fishing. I have been fly fishing twice now and have tied about 7 flys which haven't caught a fish yet.

At some locations, the Washington State Selective Gear Rules require only unscented artificial flies. What about the hair, feathers and glues that are used to make flies? Don’t these all have scents? Don't fish have good smellers?

I guess my questions is, do I need to take into account the scent of material used to tie flies?

Earl

·
Be the guide...
5,190 Posts
Your OK unless you are lacing the materials on purpose with trout attratant. But it would be hard for them to catch. They pretty much would have to see you apply stuff in the field because I really doubt they are going to do a taste test on the fly...

G

·
Y'know, I've got a stick of dubbing wax that I've had about five years at least, now, and still haven't used it, but I'm keeping it because it's kinda hilarious and my last link to the "bait days"... it's an anise scented stick of friggin' dubbing wax. Geez Louise!

And, oh yeah - as a tier, I'd get used to the increasing numbers of flies you've tied that have never SEEN WATER, let alone caught a fish. But, if you want to make sure the flies you tie do catch fish, I'm getting a little thin on #18 (gasp) bwo's...

I'm not being serious.

Fish are good smellers. Unless you got ahold of my dubbing wax somehow, though, I think your store-bought or road-scraped tying materials should be fairly safe (and legal) and standardized. Just don't go getting "all quill" or anything on us, now...

:smokin

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
The scent of the materials themselves is irrelevant unless you are tying with road kill!

Some fishing authors have claimed that the smell of head cement is relevant, particularly in lakes. I strongly believe that this is one of those claims that sounds good on paper but has absolutely no validity in the field.