Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys....

I want to start fishing Kokanee. Trolling with and without using Downriggers.
What I currently have is a standard 8' 5-wt flyrod.
I was thinking a rod with a longer butt on it would sit better in the rod holder.
Also was thinking a 5-wt is too light....maybe a 7/8?

Looking for your thoughts please.

I have limited funds as I'm a disabled vet just looking to move beyond our sparse Salmon seasons.

Thank for reading...
Terry

·
Registered
4,850 Posts
A 5 weight is not too light, in fact have rebuild a couple my older fly rods into kokanee rods. Replacing the fly rod corks with a more standard conventional gear handle.

Kokanee have pretty soft mouths and you want a soft action rod that bends well into the rod under stress. This provides the necessary give needed to reduce the lost of kokanee once hooked. I found a 7 1/2 or 8 foot 4 weight fly rod blank about right for kokanee with glass rods preferable over the stiffer graphite (though there are graphite blanks that are soft enough). If building rods is not your thing there rods that are designed for kokanee trolling that are more than adequate for $50 or so. Couple the rod with either a direct drive level wind reel or one with a smooth light drag and you are in business.

One word of warning kokanee fishing is addictive and there is no end of kokanee related gear to spend money on. Good electronics, downriggers, long handed nets, and no end to the numbers of dodgers and terminal gear that the fanatics collect.

Have fun!

Curt

·
Registered
1,784 Posts
One word of warning kokanee fishing is addictive and there is no end of kokanee related gear to spend money on. Good electronics, downriggers, long handed nets, and no end to the numbers of dodgers and terminal gear that the fanatics collect.