Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance. 

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Should be fishing
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still learning the steamer game. I have it down near home, but recently I found myself fishing in Texas without a lot of success. That lead me to the local fly shop.

The guy in that shop had a lot to tell me about the amount of daylight (full sun/partly sun/cloudy) and the colors of the bottom of the river in regards to picking a streamer. If I'm honest I had some trouble following. I hadn't ever thought of my flies this way.

Yet, low and behold, he helped me pick out a few possibilities. I went back to that river and started having a much better day. Much better.

So, I have to ask, was this a load of bs, or is there a legitimate reason why one streamer would work over another based on the kind of light one might experience on the river?

I certainly can't pretend that guy didn't turn my day around.

·
Senior Moment
5,472 Posts
I am not a streamer expert either but it makes total sense to me. Critters of all sizes don't last long if they stand out with a "look at me" attitude. They are usually better suited to blending into their environment.
The exception would be males of some species in search of a mate, birds and humans primarily.

·
Registered
5,158 Posts
I only have a few things that help me decide on a streamer. I don't know if it matters, though.

Muddy water - yellow

First/last light - white, tan, or gold/copper sparkle

Not catching anything - black

Best winter streamer - white zonker, #4-8

Best streamer the rest of the year - copper sparkle minnow, #2-6

·
Dumbfounded
10,887 Posts