Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Blue River, Summit County CO :THUMBSUP

New to the sport...less than two years. Moved from the south sound to colorado now living in (sigh) Maryland.
The time spent in colorado I always noticed how little garbage/litter was around local rivers and streams.
Now that I am back for the holiday and already tired of the parents, I went out and poked around the Deschutes. I was sickened to see how much crap covered the banks.
Because I am a rookie...and didn't catch a thing, I spent my morning gathering what seemed like a ton of random litter.

The NW will always be my home... so I ask and plead...

If you see litter...please pick it up.

Fish on!

:THUMBSUP

·
Registered
2,860 Posts
I pick up litter because it makes me feel righteous. I like to pull into a small spot and clean it up from hell to breakfast even cigarette butts. Then I look back on my work and feel a certain amount of pride. It's a nice spot now and maybe others will try to keep it clean.
Litter is like cancer. Once it gets started, it spreads like hell. People seeing it thus, don't feel it's worth it not to add to the mess. Never let it get started. We can and do make a difference.
So cleanup not just your stuff, but everybodies' as well :THUMBSUP

·
Smells like low tide.
7,951 Posts
All litter is ugly, but discarded mono can become a deadly trap for wildlife, so although I usually don't have room to pack out other peoples' litter, I make a point to pick up tangles of mono and stuff them down my hipboots or waders. When I get home, I cut up the tangles with scissors before tossing them in the trash. Some of the manufacturers will accept old mono returned for recycling, although I haven't done this yet. I like BOBLAWLESS' idea.