Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, new here and looking for a little advise because I got absolutely skunked at Blackman's yesterday when it seemed like there were fish all around me. So here is a screen shot. This was at about 1pm in the northwest corner of the lake, and the fish blips were pretty constant.
Ecoregion Bird Rectangle Font Technology

Water temp as you can see 42 degrees, overcast skies occasional sun breaks and water was pretty murky i would think maybe 18-24" clarity (i don't know how much that factors with fish, again i'm new to this). I tried bead head olive wooly bugger with some flash stripped on a type 3 sink. I tried a scud imitation unweighted under an indicator at approximately 3.5-4ft down. I tried an unweighted san juan worm under an indicator with a little split shot about 12" up from the fly. I also tried a chironomid pattern with red and black stripes also under an indicator. So I am wondering if i just hit them at the wrong time of day, i didnt have the right lure or if its still just too cold that the fly basically has to be right in front of their nose for a strike. So any info would be beneficial so that the next time i get a chance to fish I might have a little success.
Thanks

·
Registered
7,343 Posts
If I'm reading your sonar display correctly, the water was 6.4 feet deep and "fish" were marked from 4.0 to 5.6 feet. I doubt you were marking fish. You might try turning the sensitivity down. A friend of mine acquired a new, high tech - state of the art - sonar unit several years ago. Excitedly we headed out to a local lake. This thing was pinging away and showing fish on the display. We were in gin clear water 4-feet deep. There wasn't a trout within a 100 feet of the boat let alone six or seven right beneath us in the cone that was maybe 2 feet diameter.... If you were, in fact, marking fish - keep trying.

·
Registered
4,170 Posts