Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance. 

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this sport, and am doing a bunch of trial and error. Took a sunday and went with a buddy to the Middle Fork Snoqualmie and got skunked. I would like to say it was nice to be out anyway, but if you looked up at the sky, you would know that wasn't true. Got totally soaked. Doing a bit more reading, it sounds like maybe the Upper snoqualmie may be a bit better for trout and maybe a bit later, say in April. Am I off in my thinking with that? It's an easy day trip out there so probably will give it a shot a few more times with hopefully better weather and better luck. Need to learn more about what to cast and when and river flows and such. So much to learn.

·
It's all about the sauce.....
551 Posts
Totally True on the timing. Summer months are great on both the south and middle fork. I prefer the south as it seems pretty quiet,easy to walk, and the water is crystal clear. When the water level drops and the water temp gets up to 45 it becomes a dry fly haven. Elk Hair Caddis, Humpy's, and just about any parachute. See you out there in June.

·
aka Dave Hoover
1,348 Posts
The earliest I would try it with a chance of success would be late June (or when the river goes down into normal summer flows)
I agree with fishing in June but the MF flow now isn't far off it's early Summer level. I was up there last week and I was able to wade across one section in hippers.

·
Registered
72 Posts