Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a college student in Walla Walla. I have been fishing at bennington Lake but besides that not really anywhere else. I keep hearing what great fishing walla walla has but cant really find any. are there any suggestions? Also, I found a spot on Swegle road just past Whitman Mission that I can fish Mill Creek on. what type of fish are in there and is it worth trying?

Thanks

· Registered
4 Posts
I'm also a college student in Walla Walla! I've never fished in Mill Creek, but I second b_illymac's suggestion, most of the good fishing I've done has been in the Blues within about an hour's drive or less. If you haven't stopped in before, I've always been able to get good advice on fly selections and places to go at Steve's Archery and Fishing shop.

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You should catch the heck out of pike minnows there
hey thanks for the tips! what setup should i use to catch them? the mill creek is pretty shallow with fast moving water.....i fish there cus i dont have a car so that spot is pretty close by. when i went there today i saw hundreds of little fish but i couldnt tell what type.

· Registered
469 Posts
Hopefully you've found this by now: http://wallawallaflyfishers.blogspot.com/

and there was an article on the internet that I can't find now that was written by one of the Whitman professors, now retired I think, that covered a good bit of ground around Walla Walla.
I've fished over there pretty extensively, and never done much in Mill Creek. My girlfriend lives on the upper part of the creek and every year we get a survey and permission form requesting access to the creek to survey steelhead redds there. (There aren't many, and they run up and spawn before the regs open the creek.)