Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fly fishing, having picked it up at the beginning of the summer. A friend gave me a NIB Cabelas budget special. $40 total for rod, reel, backing and line. It's a Cahill brand, 9' 5wt slow action. The line is level taper and hard to control. Being a slow action it was great for me to learn on, but its gotten to the point where my cast can only do so much.

Newly married, EMT by day/night, fisher by morning, and more broke than I've ever been, I've been desperate to get a new rod. I can only afford one, and so my question is:

In your opinion, what is the most versatile rod out there for freshwater game fish (trout and bass mainly)? I fish stillwater and rivers both. I've had some guys say 8' 4wt, others say 9' 6wt fast-action. Any good brands out there? I've been looking at Griggs, TFO, and the Orvis Clearwater line for some cheaper models.

Basically I just want something that will cover the widest range of fishing scenarios possible.

Thanks guys!

-Aces

·
Long Lost Member
20,205 Posts
If doing it on the cheap is your goal. Try a double taper 4wt line on that soft 5wt and you should see its action pick up a bit. Tough to beat a good 5wt rod as an all around champ for trout and all but the biggest of bass. Nothing wrong with any of the rod companies you've mentioned.

·
Premium Member
7,341 Posts
I would second the recommendation of a fast 5 wt. It will throw lines from 4 thru 7 with only minor dropoffs on either side of 5. A 7wt would be better if you have steelhead in mind but that defeats the purpose of an all around rod.

I have a 5wt long belly WF-5F line in near new condition that would probably be quite a step up from your level line. You are welcome to it. If you would be interested drop me a PM and I can mail it out on Tuesday.

Ive

·
Still truckless now farther away
1,693 Posts