Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello WFF,

With the event of Puget Sound closing for coho and the short chinook season, I was thinking on taking a couple of trips out to Neah Bay. Unfortunately, I have no experience with this fishery but want to learn. I have a newer Alumaweld Styker 18' with a 90 Yamaha and kicker motor. Will this boat be enough for Neah Bay? I've heard stories that it gets pretty big out there, and that bigger the boat the better.
As far as gear goes, I have a couple of 8wts, and a 10wt, but will also need advice with lines and such.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and maybe in the near future a trip can be planned with a couple of you guys.

Thanks in advance,

Gerry

·
Registered
11,299 Posts
Your boat will be fine. Just watch the weather closely and don't hesitate to bail if things look like they are turning. Lots of great water inside of Tatoosh as well so you don't have to worry about pushing it out into the ocean all the time either.

8 and 10 wts will be perfect. For me I like to use shooting head systems with T material heads. For the 8 wt an intermediate running line with a head of T14. (I just use the whole thirty feet that comes in a package, but you can cut that back a foot at a time to get it to where it feels best to you if you prefer).

10 wt is same setup with T17. Both will get you down there.

Rock fish, lings and salmon... Hard to beat a chartreuse over white flash tail Clouser.

·
Moving to FL
598 Posts