Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm in the market for a new line for my single hand 8-weight. I plan on doing a fair amount of beach fishing this summer but likely more out of my boat. I'd like to have one line that I can use for coho out at westport and beach/boat fishing in the south sound. Would I be better off getting two lines? I am fairly new to saltwater flyfishing so I'm open to all suggestions. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,374 Posts
I'm not sure the location of the fishing matters as much as the techniques you will be employing. From the beach a floating or intermediate sink line is usually the weapon of choice. Typically most people will pick an integrated shooting head such as the Rio outbound, airflo 40+, or similar line to get a bit of extra distance (presentation is usually not as important). If this line will work for the type of fishing you are doing at Westport than one line will work. However if you are planning on fishing deeper in the water column than you may want a faster sinking line for boat work.

·
Long Lost Member
20,209 Posts
Welcome Mr. Grylls,