Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody. Great site, glad I found it.

I'm interested in getting my son and I setup for fly fishing this year and had a few questions. While I'm new to fly fishing, I'm no stranger to fishing in general. I currently live in Issaquah, but grew up in Wenatchee and fished for years growing up. I'm wanting to get my soon-to-be 9 year old son out there this year and am looking for some advice on a decent starter combo and local shops in the area.

I'm going to guess 7-8ft 4-5 weight with a decent flex? How about for me? I've looking online a bit, but am far from apposed to shopping and supporting local shops.

Also any recommendations for our first few outings; i.e., locations, time of year, etc..

Considering a full day tour out of Red's on the Yakima to set the hook and get him stoked. Looking for advice on best times of the year for that as well. Guessing possibly later in the summer, but not sure.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

· Inactive
1,974 Posts
Don't wait, trout are hungry on the yakima and Red's can set you straight without breaking the bank, highly suggest heading to reds, even if just to chat up the shop rats (hi Max)

Orvis, echo, allen, etc. all have nice little starter setups, 9' 5wt or 6wt would be my suggestion, helps on them windy days

· Registered
198 Posts
I got Eagle Claw glass rods for my boys and overlined them. Cheap and they are way tougher than a graphite rod. Then you just have to find a reel and line which ends up costing more than the 25$ rod. They are cool rods for being so cheap (amazon). Lots and lots of feedback to the kids to help them with learning to cast via the soft rods and heavier line. They won't bomb a far cast tho.

· Jeff Cheng
376 Posts
Welcome to the site. Any thoughts on what type of fishing you're interested in? It might help when giving suggestions. A budget would also be helpful.