Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I am new to fly fishing (somewhat at least). I used to fly fish and tie flies when I was 12 years old but now I am getting back into it.

I am looking for a small lake to get started in and not too familiar with the area up here. I live in Everett and work in Tukwilla. I do have a pontoon boat.

Any suggestions?

·
Joe Streamer
4,156 Posts
Another suggestion for lakes is to simply view the WDFW stocking records and hit a lake that has been recently stocked. Even if the idea of fishing a put-and-take lake is unappealing, at least it will provide you with a way to learn. There will be plenty of fish in such lakes, and that will give you a better feedback mechanism about what you're doing right or wrong than fishing a piece of water with fewer and wild fish. Check it out here: http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/plants/weekly/

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Lex: Yes. I have been in the culinary industry for about 15 or so years. I trained at the Culinary Institute of America and also trained as a pastry chef. I currently teach at Le Cordon Bleu in Tukwilla. It is my dream job. I also own a honeybee business, which, at some point soon, I would like to sell. We have raised bees and sold honey now for 7 years and it is time for me to do something less stressful and I need to focus on having fun (aka fly fishing).

·
Angler, Gastronomist, Artist, Jarhead, Geek
376 Posts